Know the Total Number of Districts in Uttar Pradesh


Uttar Pradesh, one of the most populous states in India, is also known for its vast geographical expanse. Uttar Pradesh is divided into administrative units known as districts, each headed by a District Magistrate or a Deputy Commissioner. As of November 2021, Uttar Pradesh comprises a total of 75 districts.

Understanding the Districts of Uttar Pradesh

What is a District?

A district is an administrative division within a state or country. In India, districts are the third-level administrative units, with states being the first-level administrative units and tehsils or talukas being the second-level administrative units. Each district is headed by a District Magistrate or a Deputy Commissioner, who is responsible for the overall administration within the district.

History of Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh, historically known as the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh, has undergone several administrative changes in terms of district formations. The state was reorganized post-independence, leading to the creation of new districts to better manage the growing population and improve administrative efficiency.

Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is home to a diverse range of districts, each with its unique cultural, historical, and geographical significance. From the bustling urban centers of Lucknow and Kanpur to the tranquil rural landscapes of Basti and Ambedkar Nagar, the districts of Uttar Pradesh offer a glimpse into the cultural tapestry of the state.

Administrative Significance

Each district in Uttar Pradesh plays a crucial role in maintaining law and order, implementing government schemes and programs, and ensuring the overall welfare of its residents. The District Magistrate, along with other administrative officials, works towards effective governance and development within the district.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Districts in Uttar Pradesh

1. How many districts are there in Uttar Pradesh?

As of November 2021, Uttar Pradesh consists of 75 districts.

2. Which is the largest district in Uttar Pradesh?

The largest district in Uttar Pradesh in terms of area is Sonebhadra, located in the southeastern part of the state.

3. Which is the most populous district in Uttar Pradesh?

Lakhimpur Kheri is the most populous district in Uttar Pradesh, with a significant population density.

4. How are districts in Uttar Pradesh divided for administrative purposes?

Districts in Uttar Pradesh are further sub-divided into tehsils or talukas, which are then divided into blocks or mandals for better administration.

5. How is a new district formed in Uttar Pradesh?

The formation of a new district in Uttar Pradesh requires a detailed administrative process, including feasibility studies, population analysis, and approval from the state government.

6. What is the role of the District Magistrate in Uttar Pradesh?

The District Magistrate is responsible for overall administration, law and order, and implementation of government policies within the district.

7. How are districts in Uttar Pradesh named?

Districts in Uttar Pradesh are usually named after significant geographical features, historical landmarks, rivers, personalities, or cities within the district.

8. Are there any districts in Uttar Pradesh with special administrative status?

Yes, certain districts like Noida and Ghaziabad have been designated as part of the National Capital Region (NCR) due to their proximity to New Delhi.

9. What is the relevance of districts in rural development in Uttar Pradesh?

Districts play a pivotal role in rural development by implementing welfare schemes, promoting agriculture, improving infrastructure, and enhancing the overall quality of life in rural areas.

10. How can one access information about a specific district in Uttar Pradesh?

Information about each district in Uttar Pradesh, including demographics, tourism, and administrative details, can be found on the official website of the Uttar Pradesh government.

In conclusion, the districts of Uttar Pradesh form the backbone of administrative governance and development within the state. Each district, with its unique characteristics and administrative significance, contributes to the rich tapestry of Uttar Pradesh’s cultural and geographical landscape.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here